Library Board


PURPOSE: The purpose of the Library Board shall be to control the expenditure of all monies collected, donated, or appropriated for the library fund and of the purchase of a site and the erection of a library building whenever authorized. The Library Board will audit expenditures of the public library. 

POWERS AND DUTIES:  The Library Board shall have the powers and duties prescribed in Municipal Code 1.49 and §43.58, Wis. Stats

STRUCTURE:  The Library Board shall consist of nine (9) members, including one (1) alderperson and eight (8) citizens.  In addition, one ex officio member shall be appointed by each town or village board for each town or village that participates in a library service contract with the city.

TERMS:  Members of the Library Board shall by appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the Common Council, at the organizational meeting.  The alderperson member shall be appointed for a one (1) year term and the citizen members for staggered three (3) year terms.   


President:   Deb Bartnikowski

Name                                                                               Tenure    

Chris Jenkins, Alderman                                             2010 - 2020
Joanne Kline, Vice President                                      2010 – 2022
Deborah Bartnikowski, President                               2012 – 2021
Karen Wachholz, Recording Secretary                      2012 – 2021
Douglas Rakowski                                                        2009 – 2021
Tim Harder - School District Representative            2015 – 2021
Jessica Tortomasi                                                        2018 - 2020
     (fulfilling Andrew Chevalier's term) 

Contact Information:

Amy Becker
City of West Bend
1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI  53095




West Bend City Hall
1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI 53095
(262) 335-5100