Boards, Committees & Commissions > Safety Commission

Safety Commission


PURPOSEThe Safety Commission shall investigate, advise, and report to the mayor, the Common Council and any other city official concerning the best methods of providing for the safety and convenience of the public on matters of safety, and it shall conduct educational campaigns on safety measures and practices.

POWERS AND DUTIES:  The Safety Commission shall have the powers and duties prescribed in Municipal Code 1.52. 

STRUCTURE:  The Safety Commission shall consist of six (6) members, including the Chief of Police and five (5) citizen members.

TERMS:  The citizen members shall be appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the Common Council at the organizational meeting in each even-numbered year for a term of two (2) years.

                    COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chairman:  Ken Meuler, Chief of Police

Name                                                                      Tenure    

Ken Meuler, Chief of Police, Chairman              Term of Office
James Winget                                                        1979 – 2020
Boyd Janto                                                              2000 – 2020
Tom Hopp                                                               2000 – 2020
Kenneth Pesch                                                       1999 – 2019
David Uelmen                                                         2018 – 2020

Contact Information:

Ken Meuler, Chief of Police
West Bend Police Department
1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI  53095 




West Bend City Hall
1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI 53095
(262) 335-5100