Tourism Commission

PURPOSE:    The Tourism Commission is established pursuant to the requirements of Section 66.0615, Wis. Stats.

POWERS AND DUTIES:  The Tourism Commission shall meet regularly and, among its members, it shall elect a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretary.  The commission shall report any delinquencies or inaccurate reporting regarding room tax to the city.  The commission shall distribute all room tax proceeds received from the city in accordance with Section §66.0615, Wis. Stats. 

STRUCTURE:  The Tourism Commission shall consist of five (5) members, two (2) Alderpersons, one (1) representative of City staff, one (1) representative of the Wisconsin Hotel and Motel Industry, and one (1) representative of the West Bend business community.

TERMS:  The members of the Tourism Tax Commission shall be appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the Common Council at the organizational meeting, for a (1) year term. 

Tourism Promotion Grants:

This is a competitive grant program designed to assist nonprofit organizations seeking supplementary support. The maximum amount that the West Bend Tourism Commission could issue in a grant(s) will be $20,000.00.

Spring/Summer Tourism Promotion Grant Application 2020
Funds may be requested to promote tourism and economic impact between Friday, May 1, 2020, and Wednesday, September 30, 2020. The application deadline is Friday, February 28, 2020 at 12 p.m.

Fall/Winter Tourism Promotion Grant Application 2020/2021
Funds may be requested to promote tourism and economic impact specifically for the City of West Bend between Monday, October 1, 2020 and Wednesday, March 31, 2021. The application deadline is Friday, May 15, 2020 at 12 p.m.

Completed applications may be delivered or mailed to City Clerk Stephanie Justmann, 1115 S. Main Street, West Bend, Wisconsin 53095, or emailed to justmanns@ci.west-bend.wi.us.

Next Meeting: Tuesday, March 3, 2020, at 5 p.m., City Hall Conference Room 2067


Name  Tenure 
Rich Kasten, Alderperson   2018 – 2020 
Andrew Chevalier, Alderperson  2018 – 2020 
Jay Shambeau, City Administrator  2016 – 2020 
Chris Gurrie, Industry Representative  2016 – 2020 
Mike Nowack, Business Representative  2016 – 2020 

Jay Shambeau 
City of West Bend
1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI  53095

1115 S. Main Street
West Bend, WI 53095
(262) 335-5100


© 2020 West Bend, WI
Login | Powered by revize. The Government Website Experts